Ratings based on 349 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous hotel

Posted Feb 15, 2014
We had an amazing time. Beach was beautiful. Everyone very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Would go back

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Many positives about Sandos. Two really stand out. The staff is great. They will do whatever they need to do to help you out. The second is how easy it was to find a chair at either one of the many pools or the beach. The resort did seem busy so I do not think it was due to them being slow. No matter what time we went down to the pool or beach we were always able to find 4 chairs together. There are 3 pools, a family pool, an Adult pool and then a smaller family pool tucked behind the lobby building. Some of the other reviews we read mentioned how far it was from the lobby or adult rooms to the beach. For us it really was not a far walk and besides there was always a shuttle available. I think it is just the nature of these resorts that they are getting larger. If you want everything right outside your door then go to a high rise resort like in the Hotel Zone in Cancun. The food met my expectations. It was good for an all inclusive. I would highly recommend the Brazilian Restaurant. The food was outstanding and it kept coming. If you are a meat eater you will love it and not go away hungry.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Justin from California

Nice stay, great for couples or families.

Posted Feb 10, 2014
My fiance and I just returned from Sandos Playacar. It was our first time to this region of Mexico but not our first time in Mexico. The resort met my expectations. The staff was very friendly, and every employee would greet you with a smile. The beaches are clean and beautiful. The grounds are expansive and well maintained. We loved seeing native iguanas and agoutis when walking around the resort. The sorta cons. The beds are not very comfortable, way too firm for my liking but for others that might be a good thing. The food is certainly not 5 star but is good. I'd say that to expect more would be unrealistic as this is not intended to be a super-luxury resort. This place gets my recommendation. Come here with a signifigant other or a family and you will have a wonderful time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Had everything we wanted or needed!

Posted Feb 5, 2014
Food surpassed expectation, staff was very friendly and accommodating. Beach is amazing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 31, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Magda from New York, NY

Very nice hotel. Everything is close to each other

Posted Jan 28, 2014
Pros: The guest services take care of everything! I complained about the room being too cold and within 15 minutes of my complaint a guy came to fix it.
Cons: I would really like to hear the music at all times whether by the pool or at the beach every when the entertainment staff is not there.
Location: The location is very good because it's closet o the heart of the city of Playa del Carmen. There are many clubs and little restaurants all over.
I had a great experience! The activities offered and the services were right on point. The wifi is available in many places around the resort. The food and drinks are good. Everyone should find something for them to do. I will probably go back soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by KCE120 from Ottawa, On

Relaxing

Posted Jan 28, 2014
The place was excellent. The only thing I would like to see improved would be, they need to solar heat the pools. They were cold, so not many people were in them. Which is a shame as they were beautiful. My sister-in-law used them to ice her swollen foot!! Kids should also be escorted by their patents around buffet. A lot of handling and tasting of food with serving utensils!! Yuck!!!
1 out of 5
by Jennifer from Tampa, FL

Spend a little more....

Posted Jan 23, 2014
Pros: spa
Cons: mildew in all the rooms
Location: Playa Del Carmen- it was ok, I would stay at the resort only. Not much to look at otherwise, unless you tour the ruins or caves.
The spa was wonderful, but that is about it. The restaurants were "full" for reservations, which meant they only took 10 reservations a night and the rest of the restaurant sat empty (over 30 tables were empty each night, even though they told us the restaurant was full !!) The wanted you to eat at the buffets obviously since it would be cheaper for them:( We had to change room 3 times because of mildew in the room. It was covering the walls and the privacy curtains. You could smell the mildew the second you walked into the room:( The only up side was Marcus- the general manager- who had housekeeping bring new privacy drapes to replace the mildew covered ones. Marcus tried to make it better with each bump we had, but my feeling was that Marcus should be training his staff to see these issues prior to the guests pointing them out. The elevators in our building also never worked, which was fun pulling luggage up and down 3 flights of stairs... NOT! I would not stay here again, even though Marcus did do his best to try and fix the issues. The rest of our trip we stayed at the Grand Vela, Riveria Maya in Playa Del Carmen, which was a little more, but SOOOOOOO worth it.
3 out of 5
by ambie from kansas city, mo

Older hotel, good location on Beautiful beach..

Posted Jan 21, 2014
Checked in and told that we had a partial beach room, we did not and the room smelled of mildew, and was very dated. The bell boys delivered my bag to the wrong room, so it was lost.. took over an hour to locate and never so much as recieved an apology. Told the front desk about the room smell, they sent a housekeeper with a dehumidifier and spray.. Steak house was horrible, french restraunt was great. Everything was mediocre, wont return.
2 out of 5
by Tony from Bucks County Pa

We would NOT recommend this resort

Posted Jan 19, 2014
Pros: The beach
Cons: Food, staff, they did not seem to have their act together.
Location: The beach and the adult pool was about a ten minute walk from each other
When we arrived they said they did not have our reservation, even though we confirmed our reservation a week before our stay. After 20 minutes they said they would have a room for us. Our room was to be ready in one hour. An hour and a half later it was still not ready. They boasted of over 7 restaurants, but we could only make 2 reservations during our stay. The rest of the nights we would have to eat at the buffet. The two high end restaurants we ate at, the food was terrible. As for the buffet, the food was not good at all and was the same thing every night. So we did not have one good meal. Everyone we talked to seemed to have the same opinion. There were many other things but let’s just leave it at, We would not go back!