Ratings based on 344 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Our first trip to Mexico

Posted Mar 27, 2014
All inclusive food/drinks was great for the kids. They loved soft serve ice cream and burgers/hot dogs/fries by the beach. Each day they made a special treat by the beach (chicken wings, pad thai, tacos) That was delicious! Crepes in the "sports bar" were good. My kids ordered chocolate cake every night before bed from room service. The service was really quick but menu was very limited. No typically "bar food." Can't complain about 24 hour room service though! The staff was so nice, we tipped for every drink and I was disappointed in how many others didn't tip. The room was large and clean! The beach was amazing, we walked it to Playa and saw other resorts with a drop off, seaweed or rocks. The beach here was huge and beautiful! The pool was large with plenty of chairs. A little dated but fine. We were able to always find 1-2 chairs in the shade. The food was about what I expected. A big variety but lots of condiments/olives, etc on the buffet which was dumb. The ala carte restaurants were much better than the buffet. Our only complaint was the lack of hot tubs. Although our room had a Jacuzzi, we wanted an outdoor hot tub. There was only one in the spa - no kids allowed. And the temp was only 90 degrees - not a true hot tub. Like sitting in a bath tub with strangers. The TV channel selections were poor - not that we came to Mexico to watch TV. Overall, a nice place and I would definitely recommend Sandos!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ashley from Missouri

Beautiful but some issues

Posted Mar 14, 2014
Pros: The staff was friendly, room was nice, and beach was beautiful
Cons: the food on the buffets--- no flavor, undercooked, not very good at all
Location: Beach was perfect, clear and blue. 5th Avenue (if the driver actually drops you off there) was interesting if not a bit overwhelming.
It was beautiful but I honestly expected better. Our room was not right and we were moved twice. The rooms are very cold but you can adjust it. Most of the staff was very nice. Especially Manuel in guest services and Edgar from the entertainment team. If you stay in adults only or the family junior suites it is really far from the beach so give extra time if you are going somewhere. They always have golf carts though and the walk is very nice. The food on the buffets was not very good. Breakfast buffets were alright. The Mexican restaurant was AMAZING! And the steakhouse was pretty good. There is entertainment every day and night. The beach was gorgeous. There is a lot to do if you know what to look for. Definitely visit 5th Ave to shop. Make sure you state the price before you get in the cab. $7 is usually the rate but if you get it without negotiating you can get ripped off.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 9, 2014
They need more adult entertainment. Found it very boring from 8-11. This was my 5th stay at the Sandos.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by NB from Denver

Good but not great

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Beautiful grounds and beach. Once we denied the invitation to the pitch for a time share we were left on our own to discover the activities available. Discovered the charts on the buildings via our own exploration. The buffets had a great variety of food. The restaurants with reservations required were barely passable in their service and food. Advice: go for the beach and eat at the buffets. But there are plenty of other resorts along that same stretch of beach in Playa del Carmen.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful beach

Posted Feb 20, 2014
Wonderful beach with perfect sand. But most rooms are a good 2-8 min walk from the beach through the resort. Sandos workers come by every "4 minutes" to take guests to the beach or back to your room, but in my experience it was more like every 15-20 min. Food was good in the 2 out of 5 nights we were able to have a reservation at one of their restaurants. Otherwise I thought the buffet was below average. Employees were very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous hotel

Posted Feb 15, 2014
We had an amazing time. Beach was beautiful. Everyone very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Would go back

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Many positives about Sandos. Two really stand out. The staff is great. They will do whatever they need to do to help you out. The second is how easy it was to find a chair at either one of the many pools or the beach. The resort did seem busy so I do not think it was due to them being slow. No matter what time we went down to the pool or beach we were always able to find 4 chairs together. There are 3 pools, a family pool, an Adult pool and then a smaller family pool tucked behind the lobby building. Some of the other reviews we read mentioned how far it was from the lobby or adult rooms to the beach. For us it really was not a far walk and besides there was always a shuttle available. I think it is just the nature of these resorts that they are getting larger. If you want everything right outside your door then go to a high rise resort like in the Hotel Zone in Cancun. The food met my expectations. It was good for an all inclusive. I would highly recommend the Brazilian Restaurant. The food was outstanding and it kept coming. If you are a meat eater you will love it and not go away hungry.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Justin from California

Nice stay, great for couples or families.

Posted Feb 10, 2014
My fiance and I just returned from Sandos Playacar. It was our first time to this region of Mexico but not our first time in Mexico. The resort met my expectations. The staff was very friendly, and every employee would greet you with a smile. The beaches are clean and beautiful. The grounds are expansive and well maintained. We loved seeing native iguanas and agoutis when walking around the resort. The sorta cons. The beds are not very comfortable, way too firm for my liking but for others that might be a good thing. The food is certainly not 5 star but is good. I'd say that to expect more would be unrealistic as this is not intended to be a super-luxury resort. This place gets my recommendation. Come here with a signifigant other or a family and you will have a wonderful time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Had everything we wanted or needed!

Posted Feb 5, 2014
Food surpassed expectation, staff was very friendly and accommodating. Beach is amazing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 31, 2014