Ratings based on 643 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good for families and couples

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: Nice staff, bar staff was very nice as well
Cons: More ambience, games, during the day
I went with a girlfriend of mine for a girls' weekend. Resort is nice and easy to navigate through. A lot of couples and families. SO, if having poolside games and such for a young group of friends is the goal, then this is not the prime place to do that. The disco on campus is not busy at all but we made our own fun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nebraska

Loving Mexico

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Pros: Beautiful resort, lots places to eat, bars everywhere and great staff.
Cons: The right room the first time and better pillows.
Location: Chichen-Itza is one of the new seven wonders of the world. Tulum Extreme tour was awesome. Shopping on Fifth street. Cozumel is a fery boat way.
We were placed in the wrong room the first night. We were moved to our beach front king bed room the next day. We found two other couple this happened to..... REALLY! The new room was much newer and also roomier! So much to do not enough time. We will be back not sure if we will stay at the same resort.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom sacramento

Beach is the best

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Beautiful beach but hotel itself needs some remodeling. Beds very hard and room has a moldy smell. Found a coach roach crawling in room, manager said its because "we are in the jungle". But overall the beach is the best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Ohio

Great hotel on sandy beach.

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: The food. They had an interesting kitchen tour with food. This has some special certification for food that only 2% of hotels in Mexico get.
Cons: Don't leave anything of value in the room. A few coins left on the dresser were taken.
Location: We went to see the dolphins. It was interesting but the travel company uses a different exchange rate from the bank rate to inflate the price.
This was a good choice of hotel. Food was very good and plentiful. Rooms were fine but pillows not so good. Lots of swimming pools and a lovely sandy beach. Good amenities. We had a great time. Weather at end of January was warm.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Salt Lake City, UT

Second Time to This Resort

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Pros: Fantastic beach, great service, great location, lots of activities to do.
Cons: Update rooms, softer beds, less repetition with the buffet menus, higher quality food in the sit down restaurants.
Location: The location is great, short taxi ride to downtown Playa, shopping, snorkeling, golf.
Spent a week here with some family and friends, we stayed in the beach front rooms, what a nice way to wake up every morning looking out at the beach and the ocean. This is the second time that I have stayed at this resort and I have to say that I think it was better the first time which was 4 years ago. The two main differences are that it is definitely an aging resort and there is a lot of evidence of that however they are in the process of what looks to be a major remodel in the main courtyard area and from what I could see they are really doing a nice job. The rooms have expected wear and tear for their age but everything worked just fine, the beds are very hard and the rooms overall could use a good detailed cleaning. The last time I stayed was in the rooms at the very far end of the resort, they were newer and much cleaner but it was a good trade off to be close to the beach, I really don't spend much time in the room anyway. The second main difference was the food quality and repetition. I was not really disappointed with the food, there are always many choices to choose from but this time there was more of the exact same dishes offered every single day with little variation. The sit down restaurant dinners are not what they used to be either, not bad but they used to have a wow factor to them that really set them apart from eating at the buffets.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom buenos aires

Hotel en obra

Posted Jan 29, 2015
El hotel esta en obra y nadie te lo indica al momento del check in. Lo único que le interesa al personal es que compres tiempo compartido y que le des propina. La única rescatable es Tanya del resto de la piscina quien se merece un hotel mucho mejor que este para poder crecer. Tiene mucho potencual. Si alguien viajo alguna vez a un Resort del estilo all inclusive y tiene con que comparar definitivamente el sandos no es una buena experiencia. La plata es muy bonita pero debes levantarte a las 7 am para tener reposera dado que más allá de los carteles que dicen que no se puede reservar todo el mundo lo hace y el personal del hotel no controla nada. No te dejes engañar no importa la pulsera que tengas. Yo tenía una morada que te habilita a ir a una zona privada y tampoco conseguía. La comida en líneas generales esta ok. Pero las habitaciones del cuerpo principal sin tétricas dan a la calle de playacar. Una verdadera vergüenza. Nos debieron pasar a la hacienda que es mucho mas comodo. Realmente estuve en 7 oportunidades en playa del Carmen (playacar) y jamás volvería a este Resort siquiera gratis Suerte y no contrate este hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom British Columbia

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Hotel was good. Wifi is a HUGE issue. No reception during the day. In 2015 this is not ok. Beach is AMAZING and gorgeous. Lots of wildlife everywhere and a lovely mom and her puppies live at the hotel. Loved that.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom St Louis

Disappointing after previous visits to the area

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Location: The beach was great until the last day when a lot of seaweed washed up for some unknown reason. The pool was super. You can go to 5th Ave too.
Been to Playa del Carmen twice before but not the Sandos. These people were all about getting me to buy a recurring vacation at their hotel, but they didn't call it a timeshare. When I was pushed to choose yes or no-- the very FIRST day- I said no, as I had not even seen or enjoyed any part or the resort yet. After that, I felt like I was just taking up space. They said we would have a king size bed, but gave us 2 queens, and when I complained, it was me inconveniencing them, because then they would have to clean two rooms and move me. Food was so-so. Best restaurant was to Asian one. They had other activities, like archery, but when you went to do it, they were only there for 1 hour, like 4-5 pm, and everybody had to get a turn then. People had status according to the color of their bracelet and regular people had blue, which was bottom of the ladder. Gold or black got better treatment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Especially loved the beach! Fantastic staff!

Posted Jan 22, 2015
We thoroughly loved our stay! My only complaint is that we only stayed for seven days...wish it was at least 10 days! There is lots to do if you so desire.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Week of New Year's 2014/15

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Location: I wouldn't recommend the fishing through the yellow 'hut' next to the adult only lounge area on the beach. Nice guys but not worth the price
Sandos is a nice establishment however I don't think I'd return. Most of the staff are very pleasant- especially the food and beverage employees and undoubtedly work very hard to provide for their patrons. The shows could be improved. Also the beds are very hard. I'd suggest the cupcake café for coffee/espresso and good cupcakes. Food is plentiful and very good and flavorful! It's nice to be on the beach and be able to walk to other hotels but when I return to Playa, likely I will choose an all-inclusive that has amenities available at other resorts as well, so there are more options such as dining and entertainment to choose from. Also the gym does not allow anyone under the age of 18 to enjoy the facilities. My son had a friend who was 17 1/2 yo and wasn't allowed to workout. That may seem trivial but to the boys who train - and the manner in which they were treated- it wasn't a pleasant experience. Interesting how one can sign a waiver to jetski, yet can't be accompanied by an adult to workout. I realize all of the employees work really hard but there is a bit of a 'cold feel' one experiences from employees and staff.....for what it's worth. Also I'd choose the beachfront rooms as opposed to the adult only section.....much more fun and much less of a trek to and from the beach....not worth the extra $$$ in my mind although the rooms are much much nicer in the adults only section.