Ratings based on 382 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Jun 15, 2014
I absolutely loved my stay, I stayed in a hacienda that wasn't too far from the beach, the food was good and all the staff was very attentive
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Gustavo from Colombia

This is a great hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: Restaurants, the beach and bars.
Cons: The entertainment team could be more active.
Location: Xcaret Park and Coba pyramid.
It has everything you need for an unforgettable vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The beach at this resort was beautiful! Very very

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: I would say if you want to go to this resort, you should book the "select" club. It was a nice place & the beach was beautiful.
Cons: I think that for what we paid to go there, we should be able to go to the a la carte's anytime as well. They book so fast and you don't get a chance.
Location: We were only about 5 or so minutes to 5th avenue in Playa del Carmen. Very nice. You can rent bikes and go for a ride to town if you wanted.
The pros: -The beach was great. The courtyard area where they do entertainment each night was fun. The bartenders at that bar were very helpful. -The Mexican a la carte was probably the best food we ate while we were there. The waiters there were very friendly and attentive! -The Steakhouse was good also. -The bagel beach bar was on the beach and also had hamburgers/hot dogs, which was nice for lunches when you didn't feel like going to the buffet. -The bar services were great & general services were alright. The cons: -The resort is pretty long, much longer from the beach than it seemed when we booked it. Probably about 10 min walk from the lobby. -We asked for a King bed when we booked and at check-in but they said they overbooked and only had doubles. -The buffets were probably the worst experience of the trip. There were so many people we had to chase down waiters to even get water. This happened at all times of the day. It was frustrating. -The a la carte's were reservation only. I booked ours the week before we came by emailing the resort and they had the right person email me back about it. I am glad we did because it was booked up by the time we arrived. The "Select" and "Elite" members were allowed to go to any of them without reservations and so they were mostly empty when we did go to the a la carte's. -I would not eat at the buffets every night so I am glad we booked reservations up front.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Relaxing, pampering, friendly place

Posted May 31, 2014
The food was outstanding and healthy. All staff were friendly, hard working and accommodating. The resort is gorgeous with a lovely beach.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alison from New Jersey

Nice resort. Food needs improvement.

Posted May 31, 2014
The resort is in a great location and the beach is awesome. The food is definitely lacking - the only places worth making a reservation at are the Asian place, the French place (although the portions are really small), and the Mexican place. The pools are also really nice. The bikes available for rent are in poor condition. The brakes all were non-existant one of the bike rims even broke and we had to walk it back to the resort!! The Royal Hacienda we had had a leak in the roof and we woke to find a HUGE pool of water on the floor. The jacuzzi at the Hacienda also did not have a functioning keyboard. We were told that in any Hacienda you had to call the staff and let them know ahead of time and they would turn it on for you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tiffani from NH

Decent & mellow

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Nothing truly sticks out to me. I enjoyed my time at the spa I suppose the most and the cycling facilitator was supportive and motivating.
Cons: Much. Read my posting above.
Location: We were not given a welcome package and so do not know much about the area. There is the 5th Avenue shopping and dining/drinking.
After lots of researching I chose the Sandos Playacar Resort for my and my friends vacation. I had never stayed at an all inclusive before but had been on a few cruises. We were roomed in the Adult Only section which was about a 5 minute walk from the beach but did have the pool with swim up bar right outside our door. The resort, I found, was too spread out and for paying extra for the adult only I'd have thought it would have been closer to the beach. I did not like that I had to reserve my dinners at the a la carte places and was limited to 3 per week. The staff were pleasant enough but nothing too over the top. We did not receive a welcome meeting which we only found out about on day 4 when we approached the staff asking for information about getting down to 5th Avenue. I would not return to this resort; however, it may be adequate for others. Also, we were not prepared enough for the culture of the shopping - very pushy, offered many drugs - it would have been helpful to have an intro class to the culture such as what is needed to process a credit card (I was asked for my id), they tried taking our pictures, etc. all seemed quite sketchy but we did not know.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by BB from LA

Nice stay

Posted May 14, 2014
If no kids, stay in adults-only section, which is kind of far from beach but hotel provides rides often from lobby and to room areas. This area has bars, restaurant s, and swimming pool. If you like to party, this hotel may not be for you. Mostly family and newly weds. Overall, clean rooms, courteous staff, good american/Italian/french/south American food, and crystal clear and protected beach with plenty of chairs. About 10 minutes taxi ride to playa del Carmen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Trish from Texas

Nice Hotel on the Beach

Posted May 13, 2014
Pros: This was a wonderful location for a large family and friend gathering. There was a great deal to do for all ages and the food offered was wonderful
Cons: Make sure all rooms are free from moldy smells and sewers are not having problems. While the food was wonderful, some of the restaurants were too hot.
Location: Go deep water fishing, swim and play at a nearby cenote. Great kite & paddle boarding are offered and taught at nearby Grand Coral.
While we were at Sandos Playacar we stayed in 2 different rooms and areas because of lengthening the time there. The first location was excellent for those wanting to be closer to the beach and more relaxed places to eat. The original reservation & 2nd location was located near the center of all activity. It was very nice with its own pool. Both rooms were clean and well kept. The entire experience was wonderful - beautiful water, beaches, great places available for a variety of foods, friendly & helpful staff and easy travel to and from any location one wanted to visit. The weather was great - lots of sun with a just a bit of rain! The beaches and pools were clean and inviting with various activities being offered throughout the day. During the our 5 day stay we were able to fish, swim, play at a nearby cenote ((fresh water, natural pool in the jungle), and have a variety of great food and drinks. Some of our group enjoyed kite boarding, paddle boarding and para-sailing. I will not hesitate to visit this place again, if given the opportunity.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Eric from New Jersey

Very nice hotel

Posted May 13, 2014
Very nice hotel, everybody very friendly. The only thing room cleaning service usually takes place around 3 pm when kids have a nap. So for 2-3 days room could not be cleaned. Otherwise everything is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lisa from Canada

Amazing

Posted May 13, 2014
Loved everything about this hotel!! Upgraded to a Hacienda and it was truly awesome. Hot tub your own pool and room service. Also premium club privileges and the service is impeccable! Also private cabanas on the beach with waitress service! So clean and well cared for resort! Food was sooooo good. Biked into Playa with the family. Private gated community. 10 out of 10 in my opinion. I would definitely go back.